10 REASONS TO LOVE KINKS COVERS

Posted: March 30, 2008 by dillion in Uncategorized

I’ll tell you what, next to The Clash, my favorite group of all time just might be The Kinks. Not because every album (or every song on most albums) is a gem, because the band has sure had their clunkers. But because those albums and songs that did hit, stayed with me.

The first cassette I ever owned was “Misfits.” It was a birthday present, and at the time, “Low Budget” was a mash hit, and that was the one I’d asked for. So I was sad to see Ray Davies’ warped face on the cover, instead of the high-heeled painted-toenail of a lady’s foot. But I gave it a chance. From the opening notes of the album, the wistful rain of guitar notes before the drums kick in on the title track, I was hooked. I played it until I could hear the other side through the tape. Then I bought the CD. Then the import version came available, and I bought that.

With so much product on the market these days, it’s tough for albums to have shelf-life. But for me, there are many Kinks albums that I still listen to, end-to-end, on a regular basis. I even prefer the records from their more commercial phase, in the late ‘70s to the mid ‘80s, to some of their more “classic,” earlier albums. But there’s so many great ones. Their first, eponymous record, Village Green Preservation Society, Schoolboys in Disgrace, Low Budget, Give the People What They Want . . . Even their relatively recent double album, To The Bone, is great. So, the Kinks need a post.

1. Tired of Waiting-Of Montreal and Days-Of Montreal

2. Act Nice And Gentle-The Black Keys

3. Waterloo Sunset-Islands

4. Better Thinks-Dar Williams

5. Situation Vacant-Spoon

6. Victoria-Sonic Youth

7. Nothin’ In the World Can Stop Me From Thinkin’ About That Girl-Feist

8. This is Where I Belong-Ron Sexsmith

9. Dead End Street-Elliot Smith

10. Set Me Free-Britt Daniel (of Spoon)

Comments
  1. Listener #109577 says:

    1. “Picture Book” by The Young Fresh Fellows. So good that I, unfamiliar with the entire Kinks Katalog, thought it was a the best fake Kinks song evar!

    2. “Waterloo Sunset” by Robyn Hitchcock — lotsa bootlegs.

    3. “Where Have All The Good Times Gone” by David Bowie (Pinups).

    4. “You Really Got Me” by 801 (live).

    5. “Stop Your Sobbing” by The Pretenders.

  2. Louis Ogden says:

    I’m telling my age here but what the hey. I was 14 yrs old in 1964 when the Kinks made their first album and I still love them 44 years later. WHAT? They NEVER made any clunkers (big smile).

  3. JIM KERR says:

    I AM THE SAME AGE AS LOUIS OGDEN,AND I CAN RECALL HEARING ”YOU REALLY GOT ME” FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME.I WAS 14 AT THE TIME AND THE HAIRS ON THE BACK OF MY NECK STOOD ON END AND I THOUGHT THIS IS THE GROUP FOR ME.
    44 YEARS ON PEOPLE OFTEN ASK WHICH IS MY FAV SONG ,AND I TELL THEM EACH SONG IS LIKE PART OF A VERY LONG SPECIAL DIARY AND EACH KINK SONG IS A SLICE OF MY LIFE, AND THE KINKS HAVE PLAYED A GREAT PART OF IT. THANKS TO RAY AND THE KINKS!

  4. Fuse says:

    Is it just me, or are Kinks covers mostly disappointing? – especially to us, the fans who claim them in the spirit of the Clash’s motto – ‘the only band that matters’.

    I used to like seeing the Gruesomes cover old tracks like Til The End of the Day and I Need You in Toronto in the late ’80’s. And nowadays I still get a kick out of seeing West Coast Canadian middle-aged punk bands like No Means No or Hanson Brothers do Victoria.

    Kinks songs are awesome live, as powerful on stage as in the bathtub. Part of me is grateful they always remained a live band in spirit, as great as many of their recordings truly are.

Leave a Reply

