YO LA TENGO, SLIGHT RETURN

Posted: February 8, 2008 by dillion in Uncategorized

A while back, I posted one, two, three Yo La Tengo cover posts. A few of you liked them, I promised more, but didn’t deliver.

Until now.

The first one I’m posting I need help with. I’ve been told it’s a Sun Ra cover, but I haven’t been able to confirm that. If anyone knows who did the original and, more importantly, how I can get a better quality boot of this song, please tell me. It’s my 8 year old’s favorite tune: Dreaming (Sun Ra(?))

Somebody’s Babe (Jackson Browne)

Roadrunner (Modern Lovers)

Somebody’s In Love (Cosmic Rays)

You Tore Me Down (flaming groovies – live)

A Message to Pretty (Arthur Lee and Love)

Pop Life (Prince)-Cover by Dump (Yo La side project)

Don’t Cry No Tears (neil young)

Comments
  1. Will Smith says:

    Hi
    Dreaming is also by the cosmic rays who were a 50’s doo wop group that featured Sun Ra – not sure if he sang tho. There is a good radio session recording on the extra ltd disc that came with the Prisoners of Love comp.

  2. BTH says:

    The original version of Dreaming can be found on the Sun Ra collection “The Singles.” The song is credited to the Cosmic Rays, and written by Sun Ra and Calvin Barron. If you ever talk to Ira or Georgia, they are both huge fans of this collection.

  3. ekko says:

    thanks! i just bought it on iTunes!

  4. Ken Wenner says:

    Any chance of posting Dump’s TSMKWTHV? I’ve been trying to get that for a long time.

  5. ekko says:

    Sorry, Ken, I just don’t post entire albums.

  6. Mick says:

    Great stuff.

    Do you happen to know where one could find the YLT version of Richard and Linda Thompson’s ‘For Shame of Doing Wrong’? If you could point me in the right direction, i’d appreciate it muchly.

Leave a Reply

