THE 40 BEST ALBUMS OF 2007: AMY WINEHOUSE (#2)

Posted: December 21, 2007 by dillion in Best of 2007

It’s almost time to go back to business as usual here, reviewing indie rock and rap.  Tomorrow I’ll post the #1 album, we’ll have a few Xmas posts, and we’ll be doing our old thang.  I hope posting all these things that I’ve already posted throughout the year wasn’t a big waste of time for too many of you.  I had fun doing it, anyway.

Here’s #2:

2. Amy Winehouse-Back to Black.

Drinking self-destructive retro Motown revival tattoos no no no cigarette bra hair.

You Can Only Hold Her/That Thing (Lauryn Hill cover)

Hey Little Rich Girl (Specials cover)

You Wondering Now? (Specials cover)

Monkey Man (Toots and the Maytalls cover)

Rehab (live, acoustic version)

Comments
  1. indietunes says:

    Ugh, Amy Winehouse, are you freaking serious? You obviously don’t know music. Damn, No.2??!?

  2. ekko says:

    Yeah, I know nothing. YOu’re right. Never read my blog again, please.

  3. ekko says:

    Michael-

    Amy Winehouse’s album was released in the US in March of ’07. The only ’06 release on my top 40 was NaS, which I included because it was released in December after my ’06 list had already been drafted. I’ll do the same thing for Lupe Fiasco’s Dec 07 release, if I feel it’s a top 40 record.

    As for your blog, the RIAA may or may not come after you. I do not post anything that is protected by the RIAA because they did come after me once, and that was after I posted something that had been sent to me by a publicist. It was a misunderstanding, but it really pissed me off, so I changed my blog address and became an indie-only review blog.

  4. fthz says:

    Hi, would it be possible to reupload these two songs? Thank you!

    You Can Only Hold Her/That Thing (Lauryn Hill cover)

    Rehab (live, acoustic version)

  5. J. says:

    Looking back at it 2007 was preety strong as far as music i want amy to get better but it may seem selfish cause i sort off dont becausethe b.s and that lifestyle makes some dope ass music.

  6. Jessica A says:

    So sad that she is dead😦

Leave a Reply

