A TRIBUTE TO JONI MITCHELL–GIVE AWAY!

Posted: June 7, 2007 by dillion in Uncategorized

Yes, cornerboys, it’s time for another giveaway! Trucks keep hitting that pothole I dug in the street, and stuff falls off the back. Today, it’s something pretty special — A tribute record with more stars than you can shake a stick at, from Elvis Costello to Sufjan; Björk to Emmylou Harris; and the standout cut, Prince’s take on “Case of You.”

How can you get a copy? Simple.

Drop me a comment with your e-mail address and the name of the band/artist/writer/whathaveyou who you think should be the subject of a tribute album. The one I agree with the most, wins.

Check your e-mail on June 15. If you don’t respond to my “you’re the winner” e-mail within
24 hours, I’ll go on and pick the next person.

A Tribute To Joni Mitchell Trailer (.mov)

“The Boho Dance” – Bjork (audio stream)

Free Man in Paris-Sufjan

The fine print:This is released on a label that buys into the RIAA (Nonesuch Records)—so those of you who think I’m a sellout, stop reading now. Or better yet, stop reading earlier. In response to a complaint received recently, I want to make sure you all know I do not (ever) get paid for my work here. The sole benefit is in swag (free CDs), the vast majority of which aren’t very good or are home-made burnjobs). I do this for the love, not for the cash, which his why I don’t accept ads. If I do a giveaway with an RIAA label, it’s because I think you all might want something for free, too. If they get publicity out of it, that’s okay with me because I still won’t promote anything I don’t think has value or merit.

Comments
  1. Eric says:

    Well, it’s a tough call, but I would say Neil Young. I don’t believe there has ever been a tribute album to him, and he has such a long, varied backlog of work that, given the right artist participation, could make for a very interesting project indeed.
    Thanks for all your work, and best of luck to me!

  2. Victor says:

    I think Todd Rundgren would make an interesting recipient of a tribute album (although it could be argues ‘with a twist’ was a todd tribute by todd)

  3. ekko says:

    That Cyndi is good–very good.

  4. JLoco says:

    PRINCE…’nuff said.

  5. Will Munn says:

    Hmmmm a worthy tribute album that’s not been done yet?????

    Perhaps something like The Replacements would be worthwhile or The Meat Puppets or The Jesus And Mary Chain or Nick Cave????

    Will

  6. Sybil says:

    Easy choice – Jackson Browne. I don’t think he’s ever had a real “tribute” album, although enough artists have covered him to make a pretty good one.

    I agree about the Sufjan version of ‘Free Man’ – what in hell was he thinking? I guess Joni won’t mind as long as the check clears.

  7. Nicky says:

    Aphex Twin.. The Bad Plus did great things with Flim. I’d love to see what Sufjan Stevens would do with Come to Daddy. Or Daniel Johnston doing Windowlicker. Or Tapes n Tapes doing “To Cure a Weakling Child”… Now I’m all excited.

  8. Derviche says:

    Hum, guess I would say the Television Personalities. They had a unique sound and have been quite influent for pop music. I don’t think a tribute album has been made to them, but it would be worth it. Yeah. Sure.

  9. casper says:

    Mike Heron (smiling man with bad rfeputations!)

  10. ekko says:

    what’s the deal here? nobody gives me an e-mail address?

  11. ekko says:

    Sorry, but no. For some reason, they don’t always come out. That’s why I ask for them.

Leave a Reply

