10 REASONS TO TAKE A BREAK FROM THE BEST OF 2007

Posted: December 8, 2007 by dillion in MP3, Music, Uncategorized

1. Cartoons!

2. A free Happy Animals EP (Go here!)

3. My favorite Hip Hop blog, Passion of the Weiss, has begun its top 25 songs of the year countdown (scroll around). Many of his picks are surprising.

4. And it is important, in this holiday season, to remember the dangers of overindulging on food. I love this song. Anybody remember it?

The Sexual Politics of Meat-Consolidated

5. While we’re on the subject of nostalgia, and asking questions, does anybody remember laughter?

It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry-Paul Westerberg

I think this song kicks the ass of 90% of the songs on that overbloated “I’m Not There” soundtrack.

6. Much as I hate to give Heather publicity (I don’t think she likes my blog–she’s refused to blogroll me and stuff–I must be too street), she did do a great interview with Travis and offers a zip file of a bunch of cool T songs. Didn’t include this one, though. Go figure.

Hit Me Baby One More Time-Travis

7. For a whole bunch of albums I won’t put on my top 40 list, check out Ryan’s best of 2007 list. It looks a lot more like a reputable indie blog’s list oughtta look like. My list is going to be sheite. I’m too into pop to be indie. Sigh. I don’t even know why you read this shit. Or check out Aquarium Drunkard’s list. He puts me to shame every damn day. It is nice that someone agrees with me about Blonde Redhead and Panda Bear.

8. Throwing Up In My Own Mouth-Ryan Adams. Niiiiiiiiiiiice.

9. I’m on Fire (Bruce springsteen cover)-Jim James (of My Morning Jacket). Where have MMJ been lately? I want another Z!

10. And I will leave you with pictoral existentialism.

Comments
  1. Punker says:

    I’m with you on the Panda Bear album. I don’t understand why it’s topping so many year-end lists. I find it almost unlistenable — and I listen to EVERYTHING!

  2. therenovator says:

    Yeah–GvB has been on PB’s dick since January, and I just don’t get it. I”m with you on Blonde Redhead too. It’s okay, but way overrated.

  3. Anne says:

    You know what–what is getting to me are the indie snobs of the world. Don’t get me wrong, I love indie music and many indie albums have topped my list this year. But just because a musician has been signed to a major label doesn’t mean that their album is crap. And you know what, it is also OK that a musician makes money–it doesn’t take away their credibility. And just because you don’t like some of the music that is on their lists, doesn’t make your list shit.

    OK–I feel better now that I have gotten that off my chest.

  4. ekko says:

    Anne-

    I never meant to suggest that every artist on a major label makes crap. But you must admit that the artists in the machine often make crap precisely because they are in that machine designed to make them all sound alike. I put quite a few major artists on my top 40 of 2007 list. I won’t review them because I don’t want to get sued and I won’t review unless I can give you an mp3 or two to sample.

    I think you get that I was being sarcastic about my list being shit because it doesn’t have The National or Blonde Redhead on it–I’m tired of every indie blogger making lists that look the same. I try to branch out, listen to all genres.

    Anyway, I’m glad you feel better.

  5. Anne says:

    I totally get that you are being sarcastic–and hope you realize that I was exaggerating my emotions a bit. However, there are many bloggers who have precisely the CDs on that you expect from an indie listener and who really believe that you don’t know music if they are not on the list. It’s funny and irritating all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

